early birthday


Since Adam’s sister is coming at the end of the month and will be here for his birthday, I wanted to do something this past weekend for the two of us. I planned a whole day out, starting with a walk through the west village. Saturday was an absolutely stunning day, and we wandered the streets hand in hand. Now, Adam knew that the day was for him, but I wouldn’t let on to anything that I had planned. After a few hours in the sun I brought him to the restaurant that I had decided on: A Salt and Battery (http://www.asaltandbattery.com/) It’s a tiny little fish n’ chips place – with, I have to say, some of the best I’ve ever eaten! The batter was light and crispy and the cod perfectly flaky. They have HP Sauce on request and their home made tarter sauce is unbelievable! After lunch we wandered some more, acting coy I brought him down to the river walk on the Hudson River. After a while there, we wandered into Chelsea Piers and started wandering around, Adam guessing this or that (and NOT getting it!) until I brought him to a kiosk where we picked up our tickets for a 2 hour cruise on the schooner Imagine. I found the tickets online through http://www.goldstarevents.com which is free to sign up to and you get huge discounts on all sorts of things. Imagine is an 80 foot schooner and it seats about 48 people; it also has complimentary beer and soda! The sail was absolutely beautiful, we sailed down to Eilis Island- other sailboats, jet skis and ferries floating past. The view was impeccable and the people sitting around us were just lovely. Afterwards we wandered some more in Greenwich Village, and decided to grab a martini or two al fresco. I have to say, we had better ones earlier in the week at Il Bastardo (http://www.ilbastardonyc.com/media/ilbastardo.html) but nothing could dampen our day! We split an appetiser of veal tongue that was served broiled with creme fresh and watercress, and melted in our mouths. For desert we split a delicious raspberry tart with homemade vanilla ice cream. As the night grew late, we made our way back home, a perfect day if I do say so myself.
Leave a Reply

